Canku Ota Logo
Canku Ota
Canku Ota Logo
(Many Paths)
An Online Newsletter Celebrating Native America
pictograph divider
Here Are the Nominees For The 2017 Indigenous Music Awards
by Josiah Hughes - Exclaim! Media Inc. (

Next month, the Indigenous Music Awards will celebrate and honour achievements from Indigenous artists and industry professionals around the globe. Formerly known as the Aboriginal Peoples' Choice Music Awards, the event is set to hit Winnipeg's Club Regent Event Centre next month. Today, the nominees have been revealed.

Awards will be handed out in 18 categories. There were over 200 submissions from across North America, and the winners were determined by a panel of industry professionals.

Exclaim! is proud to present the Best Music Video award, which includes nominations for DJ Shub, District Avenue, Jade Turner, JC Campbell and Logan Staats.

The Indigenous Music Awards will take place on May 19. The awards for Best Hand Drum Album, Best Peyote Album, Best Pow Wow — Contemporary and Best Pow Wow — Traditional will be presented at the Manito Ahbee International Pow Wow.

Check out the full list of nominees below, and pick up tickets for the awards here.

2017 Indigenous Music Awards nominees:
Best Blues Album: Best Country Album:
  • Blue Dog - Red-White & Blues
  • Cary Morin – Cradle to the Grave
  • Grey Gritt – Live at the NACC
  • Levi Platero – Levi Platero
  • The Gary Sappier Blues Band – The Gary Sappier Blues Band, Vol. 2
  • Cory Cardinal – North of Town Roads
  • Jade Turner – North Country
  • JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie
  • Kimberley Dawn – Til the Cowboys Come Home
  • Renée Lamoureux – Dare to Be You
Best Folk Album: Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album:
  • Christa Couture – Long Time Leaving
  • Logan Staats – Goodbye Goldia
  • Nadia & Jason Burnstick - Dream Big Little One
  • Nick Sherman – Knives and Wildrice
  • Twin Flames – Jaaji & Chelsey June
  • Frazer Sundown – Love is a War Dance
  • Nimuk – Nimuk & Friends
  • Rhonda Head – Kisakihitan
  • Silla + Rose – Debut
  • Skicinawatuwahtiq – Skicinawatuwahtiq
Best Instrumental Album: Best Pop Album:
  • Cris Derksen – Cris Derksen: Orchestral Powwow
  • DJ Shub – PowWowStep
  • R. Carlos Nakai Quartet – What Lies Beyond
  • Sean Beaver – NYD
  • Ziibiwan – Time Limits
  • Awaken Aries – The Extraordinaries Anthology Vol. 1
  • Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY
  • Jace Martin – Mighty
  • Mariame – Bloom
  • Native Roots – Most High
  • Tara Williamson – Songs to Keep Us Warm
Best Rap/Hip Hop Album: Best Rock Album:
  • B. of Dakota South Records – OHHH! B.
  • City Natives – Nomadic
  • Chase Manhattan – Warrior DNA
  • Joey Stylez – #GREYMAGIC
  • J-Rez – Tipi Creepin'
  • Rellik – The Dream
  • Digawolf – Great Northern Man
  • Julian Taylor Band – Desert Star
  • Kristi Lane Sinclair – Dark Matter
  • The Bloodshots – The Bloodshots
  • The Deeds – Late O'Clock
Best New Artist: Best Radio Single:
  • Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie – Round Dance and Beats
  • Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY
  • Lisa Muswagon – Buffalo and Rabbits
  • Mariame – Bloom
  • Ziibiwan – Time Limits
  • Black & Grey – Pretty Little Nightmare
  • Carsen Gray – Supernatural
  • DJ Shub – Old School is for Lovers feat. Morningstar River
  • Mob Bounce – All My Relations
  • NADJIWAN – All Those Years
  • Wolf Saga – Auburn Nights
Best Music Video: Best Producer/Engineer:
  • DJ Shub – Indomitable feat. Northern Cree Singers
  • District Avenue – Revival
  • Jade Turner – Worth
  • JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie
  • Logan Staats – Ash's
  • Crystal Shawanda, New Sun Records – Missy Knott/My Sister's Heart
  • Derek Miller, Thru The Red Door – Logan Staats/Goodbye Goldia
  • Larry Mitchell, Indigenous Solutions, Inc. Studios – Indigie Femme/Justify
  • Murray Pulver, Murray Pulver – JC Campbell/Four Letter Lie
  • Tom Dutiaume, Hangar Studio – Kimberley Dawn/Til The Cowboys Come Home
Best International Indigenous Release: Best Radio Station Program – Promoting Indigenous Music:
  • Glenn Skuthorpe – See My World
  • LUMALTOK - Vukub Ja'Vil Ta Lumaltok / Siete Años entre La Neblina
  • Tasha T – Fire In Me
  • The Imbayakunas – Imbaya Full Flavour
  • Warren H Williams & Dani Young – Desert Water
  • Indigenous in Music with Larry K
  • Unreserved: Radio Indigenous, CBC Radio One
  • IndiPOW with Layla Black, Jukasa Radio
  • Native Waves Radio/NDNs on the Airwave, Native Waves Radio/2Ro Media Inc.
  • ThinkNDN, 100.5fm CFRO
Best Hand Drum Album: Best Peyote Album:
  • Big River Cree – Those Old Back Trails
  • Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie – Round Dance and Beats
  • Frog Lake Handgame Singers – Tribute to late Charlie Quinney
  • Northern Cree – It's A Cree Thing
  • Shane Redstar – Loud and Proud
  • Edmond Poochey – Peyote Songs
  • Judy Curley/Pahsaknunk – Walking with the Spirit
  • Lance Crowe – Sacred Medicine
  • Utin Machiskinic – Comfort & Compassion
  • Wanita Bird & Joe PoorThunder – Water Is Life
Best Pow Wow - Contemporary Album: Best Pow Wow - Traditional Album:
  • Battle Hill – New Age
  • Blackstone – Celebration of Life
  • Northern Cree – True North Strong and Cree
  • Ottawa River Singers – Sing From The Heart
  • New Agency – OLD STYLEZ VOL. 1
  • Whitefish Bay Singers – Aaw'pii 2016
  • Young Bear – Belongs to the People
pictograph divider
Home PageFront PageArchivesOur AwardsAbout Us
Kid's PageColoring BookCool LinksGuest BookEmail Us
pictograph divider
  Canku Ota is a free Newsletter celebrating Native America, its traditions and accomplishments . We do not provide subscriber or visitor names to anyone. Some articles presented in Canku Ota may contain copyright material. We have received appropriate permissions for republishing any articles. Material appearing here is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest. This is in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.  
Canku Ota is a copyright © 2000 - 2017 of Vicki Williams Barry and Paul Barry.
Canku Ota Logo   Canku Ota Logo
The "Canku Ota - A Newsletter Celebrating Native America" web site and its design is the
Copyright © 1999 - 2017 of Paul C. Barry.
All Rights Reserved.

Site Meter
Thank You

Valid HTML 4.01!